Stroke Unit Klinik St. Anna

A stroke is a type of brain damage caused by a circulatory defect in the brain. It is usually caused by a blood clot in the vessels that supply the brain with blood. This damages some brain cells to such an extent that they permanently stop functioning. Depending on where the circulatory defect occurs, a stroke can cause various different symptoms (problems), such as:

·         Paralysis

·         Loss of feeling

·         Difficulty speaking

·         Difficulty understanding

·         Disorientation

·         Loss of balance

The sooner therapy begins, the higher the chances that such problems could be reversible. The longer the blood flow is disrupted, the greater the damage. That is why a stroke (like a heart attack) is an absolute emergency in which every minute counts.


Precursor to a stroke

The precursor to a stroke is a mini stroke or ischaemic stroke (officially referred to as a transient ischaemic attack or TIA). The symptoms listed above only appear temporarily – sometimes only for a few minutes – and have no lasting effects. A mini stroke can indicate an impending stroke, so it is vital to be examined by a doctor as soon as possible.


Klinik St. Anna has many years’ experience in the diagnosis and treatment of patients with strokes. The hospital always keeps at least one bed free for stroke patients, regardless of their insurance class.


Emergency admission

Patients or their families can directly call the Emergency Centre at Klinik St. Anna around the clock:


T +41 41 208 44 44


Of course patients can also be referred by their family doctor, an emergency doctor or transported to the hospital in an ambulance by calling the emergency services on 144. Given that it is vital not to lose any time in the event of a stroke, it is generally advisable for the patient to admit themselves to the hospital directly.

 

The Stroke Unit at Klinik St. Anna

The Stroke Unit incorporates all the specialist areas involved in the diagnosis and treatment of strokes (neurology, emergency services, radiology, intensive care unit, specialised wards for stroke patients, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech and language therapy, nutrition advice, social services; other specialists as required such as cardiology, geriatrics and others). All the medical specialists work according to predefined, standardised interdisciplinary guidelines and processes. An extended interdisciplinary Stroke Unit team meets regularly to evaluate and optimise the treatment procedures, discuss quality aspects, revise goals and assess whether they have been achieved, schedule professional development and much more.  

The Stroke Unit Klinik St. Anna has been certified by SFCNF

Stroke Unit Klinik St. Anna

L'AVC – une urgence absolue

L'accident vasculaire cérébral ou AVC (parfois "attaque cérébrale" dans le langage courant) désigne une lésion cérébrale due à un trouble circulatoire du cerveau. La cause est le plus souvent la présence d'un caillot sanguin dans les vaisseaux alimentant le cerveau. Les cellules du cerveau sont en partie lésées et détruites de manière irréversible. Selon la localisation du trouble circulatoire, les symptômes peuvent être très différents. Ils peuvent se manifester sous les formes suivantes:

  • Paralysie

  • Troubles sensoriels

  • Troubles de la parole

  • Problèmes de compréhension

  • Problèmes d'orientation

  • Troubles de l'équilibre

Plus le traitement intervient à un stade précoce, plus la chance est grande que ces troubles disparaissent. Plus la circulation sanguine est interrompue pendant longtemps, plus les dommages seront importants. C'est pourquoi l'AVC est une urgence absolue (au même titre que l'infarctus), où chaque minute compte.


Signes annonciateurs d'un AVC

Un AVC est généralement précédé d'un accident ischémique transitoire (AIT). Les troubles indiqués ci-dessus ne se produisent alors que de manière temporaire (parfois pendant quelques minutes seulement) et disparaissent totalement. Comme l'AIT annonce généralement la survenue d'un AVC, il est là aussi impératif de consulter immédiatement un médecin pour un examen approfondi.


La Klinik St. Anna dispose depuis de nombreuses années d'une solide expérience dans le diagnostic et le traitement des patients victimes d'un AVC. La clinique a toujours au moins un lit de libre pour les patients victimes d'un accident vasculaire cérébral, quelle que soit leur classe d'assurance.


Hospitalisation d'urgence

Les patients ou leurs proches peuvent nous joindre directement par téléphone 24h/24 et demander leur admission au centre d'urgence de la Klinik St. Anna, au


T +41 41 208 44 44


Naturellement, les patients peuvent aussi être admis via leur médecin de famille, le médecin urgentiste ou le service de secours du 144. Néanmoins, étant donné qu'en cas d'AVC il faut agir vite, il est conseillé de se faire admettre directement.

 

Stroke Unit Klinik St. Anna

Dans la Stroke Unit, tous les départements spécialisés impliqués dans le diagnostic et le traitement des AVC sont réunis (neurologie, service d'urgence, radiologie, unité de soins intensifs, unité de lits spécialisée pour patients victimes d'AVC, physiothérapie, ergothérapie, orthophonie, conseil en nutrition et service social. Selon les besoins, d'autres spécialistes en cardiologie, gériatrie ou autres disciplines sont également impliqués). Toutes les disciplines travaillent sur la base de directives et de processus concertés, standardisés et interdisciplinaires. Une équipe de direction élargie interdisciplinaire de la Stroke Unit se réunit à intervalles réguliers afin de contrôler et optimiser les processus, discuter des questions de qualité, élaborer des objectifs et vérifier leur réalisation, définir des formations continues et bien plus encore.  

Notre Stroke Unit Klinik St. Anna est certifiée par la SFCNS