MAKO ROBOTIC-ARM ASSISTED SURGICAL TECHNIQUE

The Hirslanden Klinik Permanence and the Salem-Spital are the first hospitals in Switzerland to use the Mako robotic-arm assisted surgical technique. This procedure is a new treatment option for knee joint replacement. With the aid of a robotic arm, it is designed to increase precision when implanting a total or partial prosthesis.

This innovation enables surgeons to perform individually planned and 3D-assisted surgery based on the specific diagnosis and anatomy of the patient. The Mako system is the first robotic arm technology that can be used for a wide range of joint replacements, for example, when implanting a total or partial prostheses for the knee. Precision and patient safety are central to this new surgical technique.

 

The aim is to achieve more stable knee joints and fewer revisions

One of the main causes of pain after implanting a knee prosthesis stems from the new knee joint’s ligament tension which is often insufficiently balanced. Surgeons now expect to solve this problem with the use of the Mako robotic arm. The software-supported robotic-arm technology makes it possible to adjust surgical planning virtually before and during the procedure by taking into account the ligament tension before the prosthesis is inserted. The use of artificial joints or joint parts is thus rendered even more exact and precise.

ROBOTERARM-ASSISTIERTE OPERATIONSTECHNIK MAKO

Die Hirslanden Klinik Permanence und das Salem-Spital setzen als erste Kliniken in der Schweiz die roboterarm-assistierte Operationstechnik Mako ein. Dieses Verfahren ist eine neue Behandlungsmöglichkeit für den Kniegelenkersatz, welches darauf ausgelegt ist, mithilfe eines Roboterarms die Präzision der Implantation einer Total- oder Teilprothese zu erhöhen.

Diese Innovation ermöglicht es Chirurgen, basierend auf der spezifischen Diagnose und Anatomie eines Patienten einen individuell geplanten und 3D-gestützten Eingriff durchzuführen. Das Mako-System ist die erste Roboterarm-Technologie, die für ein breites Gelenksersatzspektrum verwendet werden kann, zum Beispiel für die Implantation von Total- oder Teilprothesen für das Knie. Präzision und Patientensicherheit stehen im Vordergrund dieser neuen Operationstechnik.

 

Stabilere Kniegelenke und weniger Revisionen als Ziel

Einer der Hauptgründe für Schmerzen nach dem Einbau einer Knieprothese ist die oft ungenügend ausbalancierte Bandspannung des neuen Kniegelenks. Durch den Einsatz des Mako-Roboterarms erwarten die Chirurgen nun, dieses Problem zu lösen. Die softwaregestützte Roboterarm-Technologie ermöglicht es, den Operationsplan bereits vor und während des Eingriffs unter Einbezug der Bandspannung virtuell zu verändern, bevor die Prothese eingesetzt wird. Der Einsatz von künstlichen Gelenken oder von Gelenkteilen kann so noch passgenauer und präziser erfolgen.