Palliative care

Terminally ill patients whose disease is at an advanced stage receive comprehensive palliative care from specialists at Hirslanden Klinik Aarau. Our goal is to preserve the patients’ quality of life and to support their caregivers. We are committed to alleviating their symptoms and improving the psychological balance for them and their relatives.

A team consisting of a palliative doctor, specialists in oncology, radiotherapy and internal medicine, specialist nursing personnel, psychologists, chaplains, dieticians, social workers and physiotherapists work closely together at Hirslanden Klinik Aarau to this end.

The range of palliative care at our hospital is available to all patients irrespective of their underlying illness or insurance status.

Nursing care is provided, where possible, at the place chosen by the patient. We accompany many palliative patients from diagnosis through to the end of their lives as inpatients at our hospital. There is no limitation on visiting hours and relatives can stay overnight with the patient in their room. Every patient has their own personal nurse. The continuity gives the patient a feeling of security. This creates a family environment and trust.

Palliative Care - Contact

Dr. med. Gabriela Popescu
General Internal Medicine
Palliative Care
Tumour Center Aarau
T +41 62 836 78 30
gabriela.popescu@hirslanden.ch

Centers

Our Specialists

Kompetenzbereich Palliative Carean der Hirslanden Klinik Aarau

Unheilbar kranke Patienten, deren Erkrankung weit fortgeschritten ist, werden an der Hirslanden Klinik Aarau von Fachpersonen nach den Richtlinien von Palliative Care umfassend betreut. Unser Ziel ist es, die Lebensqualität der Patienten zu erhalten und ihre Bezugspersonen zu unterstützen. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass ihre Symptome verringert und die psychische Balance für sie und ihre Angehörigen verbessert werden.

An der Hirslanden Klinik Aarau arbeitet dafür ein Team bestehend aus einer Palliativärztin, Fachärzten für Onkologie, Radiotherapie und Innerer Medizin, spezialisierten Pflegefachpersonen, Psychologen, Seelsorgern, Ernährungsberaterinnen, Sozialarbeiterinnen und Physiotherapeuten eng zusammen.

Das Palliativangebot unserer Klinik steht unabhängig von Grunderkrankungen oder Versicherungsstatus allen Patienten zur Verfügung.

Die Betreuung erfolgt, soweit dies möglich ist, an dem vom Patienten gewünschten Ort. Viele Palliativpatienten begleiten wir von der Diagnosestellung bis ans Lebensende stationär in unserer Klinik. In den Palliativzimmern besteht keine Beschränkung der Besuchszeiten und Angehörige haben die Möglichkeit, beim Patienten zu übernachten. Jeder Patient hat eine für ihn zuständige Pflegefachperson. Die Kontinuität gibt den Patienten ein Gefühl der Sicherheit. Dies schafft ein familiäres Umfeld und Vertrauen.